OnePlus is finally adding a theme store to OxygenOS


OnePlus

Customizing your phone with new wallpapers and icon packs is an easy way to making it unique to your personal taste and while OnePlus phones have some great options there are even more on the way. According to a post on the OnePlus forums, the next big OxygenOS update will come with a theme store built-in, much like what Samsung’s One UI has.

If the addition of a theme store is something that you have ideas about, OnePlus is holding an Open Ears event where you can share your opinion, and possibly even get a preview of what the theme store might offer.

The addition of a theme store makes sense considering that OnePlus has a thriving community forum and that its users like to tinker and customize their handsets. Frankly, it’s a surprise that it’s taken OnePlus this long to think of adding a theme store. It’s unknown at this time whether the Theme Store will offer paid items or if its contents will be free to use. The virtual Open Ears event will be held at the following time, with users needing to apply here in order to be selected:

  • Event time: May 18, 20:00 – 22:00 HKT (17:30 – 19:30 IST, 14:00 – 16:00 CEST, 8:00 – 10:00 EST)
  • Application time: May 6 – May 12

When OnePlus says that the theme store will roll out in the next major OS update we aren’t sure whether they mean the Android 12/OxygenOS 12 firmware which will be a few months at least or just the next significant OxygenOS 11 OTA which will be much sooner. Could we see the OnePlus Nord 2 launch with the Theme Store built-in?


He’s been an Android fan ever since owning an HTC Hero, with the Dell Streak being his first phablet. He currently carries an OPPO Find X2 Pro in his pockets, a Galaxy Tab S5e in his backpack, and thinks nothing of lugging a 17-inch laptop around the world. When not immersed in the world of Android and gadgets, he’s an avid sports fan, and like all South Africans, he loves a good Braai (BBQ).




Source link